Welcome - About Live and Loud!

Live and Loud! began as a fortnightly internet radio show in 2012 taking old unreleased live concert recordings I could find and working to repair and improve them - fixing tape hiss, noise, tape drop out, clicks, speed variations, defects - before improving the sound quality by EQing the sound to bring out the instruments as clearly as possible. These are now made directly available to download for free to reach as many fans of the music as possible.

Depending on the quality of the original recording, these can often be made to sound almost like commercial recordings - but of course I can't guarantee that for every show. What I can guarantee is it will sound far better than the original files available which have been floating around the internet and on bootleg recordings for many years.

Almost all are either "soundboard" recordings (taken directly from the mixing desk used at the gig on the night) or old FM radio recordings. A few gigs, if they are of special historical importance, make an appearance even if they were recorded from the audience - these can also be made to sound better than ever.

Do your ears a favour and listen on headphones or good speakers to get most benefit - laptop speakers will always sound pretty poor by comparison.

All shows still available are listed, including a link to download the remastered show for free. If you want to support the site with a small donation, you can receive the shows as either separate MP3s or FLACs (your choice) - head over to the Rewards for Donations page and see how you can get a lot for very little!

If you want to email me, an email link is in my profile in a link in the side panel.

And finally... These are great fun to listen to but DO NOT replace original releases - support these artists and buy their music.
There is nothing you can go and buy in a regular record store here. If a gig is made available as a regular release, then it will be removed (as a couple have been already).

Thursday 12 September 2019

Radio Prog 8 - The Human League - John Peel Session Broadcast 16 August 1978

Live and Loud! Radio is an occasional series of free downloads, which started in January 2017. Radio sessions that never got an official release, sympathetically repaired and remastered and then released onto the internet, all for free.

No theme tune, no intro from me - just the original session, repaired and remastered and available in a downloadable zip file containing each separate track.

Live and Loud! Radio Prog 8 - The Human League - John Peel Session Broadcast 16 August 1978

1. Being Boiled*
2. No Time
3. Blind Youth
4. You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling

"No Time" is an early version of "The Word Before Last".

* Being Boiled was released on the 2011 Various Artists compilation album "Movement: BBC Radio 1 Peel Sessions 1977-1979" and is therefore excluded.

Recorded over a year before the release of their debut album Reproduction, this session features 3 of the 4 tracks recorded (the 4th having been released officially).

Sourced from 2 separate sets of lossless files, this took a lot of work (especially just for 3 tracks) - I fixed several dropouts and clicks and used both sources to get the best quality (copying and pasting parts of songs to remove faults, missing bits, if needed, then blending back together).

Once all that was done, the recording just needed a gentle EQ to improve clarity and boost the low end.

The zip file for this session contains remastered MP3 versions. You can download it HERE.


  1. Many Thanks Flip

    For a Such Fantastic John peel session Pure Magic in every way..fantastic best versions of all these tracks, Quite remarkable audio Quality /top even there

    So this made my day all good Flip

    Human League Live & radio sessions is such best to hear..

    Would be nice to hear what you will bring up here next time. Flip its always so nice to hear what you put up here for more nice things

    Kind Regards


    1. Thanks for listening, Tomas. Glad you enjoyed it. Please tell your friends about the site! Cheers!