Welcome - About Live and Loud!

Live and Loud! began as a fortnightly internet radio show in 2012 taking old unreleased live concert recordings I could find and working to repair and improve them - fixing tape hiss, noise, tape drop out, clicks, speed variations, defects - before improving the sound quality by EQing the sound to bring out the instruments as clearly as possible. These are now made directly available to download for free to reach as many fans of the music as possible.

Depending on the quality of the original recording, these can often be made to sound almost like commercial recordings - but of course I can't guarantee that for every show. What I can guarantee is it will sound far better than the original files available which have been floating around the internet and on bootleg recordings for many years.

Almost all are either "soundboard" recordings (taken directly from the mixing desk used at the gig on the night) or old FM radio recordings. A few gigs, if they are of special historical importance, make an appearance even if they were recorded from the audience - these can also be made to sound better than ever.

Do your ears a favour and listen on headphones or good speakers to get most benefit - laptop speakers will always sound pretty poor by comparison.

All shows still available are listed, including a link to download the remastered show for free. If you want to support the site with a small donation, you can receive the shows as either separate MP3s or FLACs (your choice) - head over to the Rewards for Donations page and see how you can get a lot for very little!

If you want to email me, an email link is in my profile in a link in the side panel.

And finally... These are great fun to listen to but DO NOT replace original releases - support these artists and buy their music.
There is nothing you can go and buy in a regular record store here. If a gig is made available as a regular release, then it will be removed (as a couple have been already).

Saturday 22 February 2020

Radio Prog 9 - The Sisters of Mercy - John Peel Session Broadcast 11 July 1984

***2021 UPDATE***

As of this year, this session had been downloaded 731 times. All for free. An official version has now been released, so my version has been taken down. Go buy the official one. ;-)

This page is left here just for historical reference (and because I don't want to delete it all).

Live and Loud! Radio is an occasional series of free downloads, which started in January 2017. Radio sessions that never got an official release, sympathetically repaired and remastered and then released onto the internet, all for free.

No theme tune, no intro from me - just the original session, repaired and remastered and available in a downloadable zip file containing each separate track.

Live and Loud! Radio Prog 9 - The Sisters of Mercy - John Peel Session Broadcast 11 July 1984.

1. Walk Away
2. Emma
3. The Poison Door
4. No Time To Cry

Sourced from lossless files. 2 tracks had a bit of FM interference, a couple more had missing beginnings. These were fixed, then 30 band EQ applied, which was different for each track. Mainly reducing overloading bottom end, reduction of harsh mids where appropriate and bringing a bit of clarity.

The zip file for this session contains remastered MP3 versions - and as a bonus for those who prefer them, lossless FLAC versions too.

If you wish to show your appreciation and donate towards site costs head on over to the Donations tab to see how you can receive freebies for a very small donation towards the site costs.

Either way - enjoy!


  1. Hello Flip

    This is pure Magic Early Versions of Timeless Classic Tunes

    The Audio Quality is All High 5 ++++++ Rating too.if you imagine this comming from a Cassette Recording from the Radio (so very best Audio sound then)

    Many thanks in every way Flip



  2. That's great - you do a wonderful job

    1. Thanks, glad you enjoyed, appreciated! Spread the word!