Welcome - About Live and Loud!

Live and Loud! began as a fortnightly internet radio show taking old unreleased live concert recordings I could find and working to repair and improve them - fixing tape hiss, noise, tape drop out, clicks, speed variations, defects - before improving the sound quality by EQing the sound to bring out the instruments as clearly as possible. These are now made directly available to download for free to reach as many fans of the music as possible.

Depending on the quality of the original recording, these can often be made to sound almost like commercial recordings - but of course I can't guarantee that for every show. What I can guarantee is it will sound far better than the original files available which have been floating around the internet and on bootleg recordings for many years.

Almost all are either "soundboard" recordings taken directly from the mixing desk used at the gig on the night - or old FM radio recordings. A few gigs, if they are of special historical importance, make an appearance even if they were recorded from the audience.

Do your ears a favour and listen on headphones or good speakers to get most benefit - laptop speakers will always sound pretty poor by comparison.

All shows still available are listed, including a link to download the remastered show for free. If you want the shows in lossless format, or as separate tagged files, head over to the Rewards for Donations page and see how you can get a lot for very little!

And finally... These are great fun to listen to but DO NOT replace original releases - support these artists and buy their music.
There is nothing you can go and buy in a regular record store here. If a gig is made available as a regular release, then it will be removed (as a couple have been already).

Saturday, 13 September 2014

Show 27: Japan - Hammersmith Odeon, London, UK - 7 February 1981

From the tour in support of their 4th album, "Gentlemen Take Polaroids", comes this FM radio recording featuring a selection of tracks from their live set. Its interesting to compare this performance with the later Japan show I did, from their last tour before splitting up. They have far more vibrancy and enthusiasm here, I think.

The recording needed a bit of repair but responded well to remastering and has proved very popular among Japan fans.

Now available as a 320 kbps mp3 for the first time, the show is available for download HERE as 1 MP3 file. Or, if you would like to have separate tagged MP3s, or even lossless files in FLAC format, head on over to the Donations tab to see how you can obtain these for a very small donation towards the site costs.

Gentlemen Take Polaroids
Quiet Life
My New Career
Taking Islands In Africa
Methods Of Dance
Ain't That Peculiar
European Son


  1. Hi great site, any chance of 're upping Japan and kraftwerk concerts? Thanks

    1. Hi - yep, keep checking back. All the concerts will be being re-upped in he next week or 2. Number 1 through 29 (including this one) will be available as 320 kbps downloads for the first time. 30-45 will have the original 320 files re-uploaded. Cheers!

  2. Nice set cheers for the Japan. I think I was there for tat concert.

    1. Cheers for the feedback; glad you enjoyed.

  3. Really nice recording, but I have a request for future uploads: leave a second or two of blank space between your intro and the beginning of the actual recording. Thanks!

    1. And see the remasters edited and passed around the internet by others claiming as their own? Nope, that's not going to happen, sorry.

      There are some shows where there is no ambient noise at the start of the recording. But otherwise - no, sorry.

  4. Thanks for the show flip.
    Enjoyed your other Japan re-master so looking forward to this one.
    CC, England.

  5. Wonderful many thanks for posting
    I believe this was a BBC recording originally
    Any more japan gratefully appreciated

    1. It was, I believe, yes. There are 2 other Japan gigs on the archive - just look for Japan down the right hand side). And there is likely to be another later this year. Thanks for the feedback!