Welcome - About Live and Loud!

Live and Loud! began as a fortnightly internet radio show taking old unreleased live concert recordings I could find and working to repair and improve them - fixing tape hiss, noise, tape drop out, clicks, speed variations, defects - before improving the sound quality by EQing the sound to bring out the instruments as clearly as possible. These are now made directly available to download for free to reach as many fans of the music as possible.

Depending on the quality of the original recording, these can often be made to sound almost like commercial recordings - but of course I can't guarantee that for every show. What I can guarantee is it will sound far better than the original files available which have been floating around the internet and on bootleg recordings for many years.

Almost all are either "soundboard" recordings taken directly from the mixing desk used at the gig on the night - or old FM radio recordings. A few gigs, if they are of special historical importance, make an appearance even if they were recorded from the audience.

Do your ears a favour and listen on headphones or good speakers to get most benefit - laptop speakers will always sound pretty poor by comparison.

All shows still available are listed, including a link to download the remastered show for free.

These are great fun to listen to but DO NOT replace original releases - support these artists and buy their music.
There is nothing here you can go and buy in a regular record store here. If a gig is made available as a regular release, then it will be removed.

Friday, 19 September 2014

Show 42: The Police - The Budokan, Tokyo, Japan - 2 Feb 1981

The Police went mega, I guess, with the release of their 3rd album, Zenyatta Mondatta in 1980. This show captures them on their world tour early the following year, following that album's release, at the famous Japanese venue.

This was a soundboard recording which has scrubbed up really and sounds very clear and punchy.

The show is available for download HERE (the link also allows you to just stream it, if you wish).

01. Don't Stand So Close To Me
02. Walking On The Moon
03. Deathwish
04. Fall Out
05. Man In A Suitcase
06. Bring On The Night
07. De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da
08. Truth Hits Everybody
09. When the World Is Running Down...
10. Bed's Too Big Without You
11. Driven To Tears
12. Message In A Bottle
13. Roxanne
14. Can't Stand Losing You
15. So Lonely

1 comment:

  1. Another fine piece of work. Many thanks for sharing.