Welcome - About Live and Loud!

Live and Loud! began as a fortnightly internet radio show taking old unreleased live concert recordings I could find and working to repair and improve them - fixing tape hiss, noise, tape drop out, clicks, speed variations, defects - before improving the sound quality by EQing the sound to bring out the instruments as clearly as possible. These are now made directly available to download for free to reach as many fans of the music as possible.

Depending on the quality of the original recording, these can often be made to sound almost like commercial recordings - but of course I can't guarantee that for every show. What I can guarantee is it will sound far better than the original files available which have been floating around the internet and on bootleg recordings for many years.

Almost all are either "soundboard" recordings taken directly from the mixing desk used at the gig on the night - or old FM radio recordings. A few gigs, if they are of special historical importance, make an appearance even if they were recorded from the audience.

Do your ears a favour and listen on headphones or good speakers to get most benefit - laptop speakers will always sound pretty poor by comparison.

All shows still available are listed, including a link to download the remastered show for free. If you want the shows in lossless format, or as separate tagged files, head over to the Rewards for Donations page and see how you can get a lot for very little!

And finally... These are great fun to listen to but DO NOT replace original releases - support these artists and buy their music.
There is nothing you can go and buy in a regular record store here. If a gig is made available as a regular release, then it will be removed (as a couple have been already).

Saturday, 13 September 2014

Show 29: The Undertones - Paradiso, Amsterdam, Netherlands - 15 March 1980

The Undertones had just finished recording their 2nd album, Hypnotised, then embarked on a tour of Ireland and Europe. This particular gig is taken from a gig recorded for Dutch radio at the time. I'm guessing its not the complete show as its only about 36 minutes long but despite that, they crammed in 14 songs!

Being an FM radio broadcast, the mix was ok but the copy I had wasn't the greatest and needed quite a bit of work to restore. That said, it sounds very listenable now - and certainly better than the original.  I hope you agree.

The show is available for download HERE (the link also allows you to just stream it, if you wish).

01. I Wanna Be A Male Model
02. Tearproof
03. Teenage Kicks
04. Jimmy Jimmy
05. The Way Girls Talk
06. There Goes Norman
07. Get Over You
08. Whizz Kids
09. Family Entertainment
10. True Confessions
11. Here Comes The Summer
12. She’s A Runaround
13. Girls Don’t Like It
14. Rock And Roll

1 comment:

  1. More good stuff from the archives. Thanks again!