Welcome - About Live and Loud!

Live and Loud! began as a fortnightly internet radio show in 2012 taking old unreleased live concert recordings I could find and working to repair and improve them - fixing tape hiss, noise, tape drop out, clicks, speed variations, defects - before improving the sound quality by EQing the sound to bring out the instruments as clearly as possible. These are now made directly available to download for free to reach as many fans of the music as possible.

Depending on the quality of the original recording, these can often be made to sound almost like commercial recordings - but of course I can't guarantee that for every show. What I can guarantee is it will sound far better than the original files available which have been floating around the internet and on bootleg recordings for many years.

Almost all are either "soundboard" recordings (taken directly from the mixing desk used at the gig on the night) or old FM radio recordings. A few gigs, if they are of special historical importance, make an appearance even if they were recorded from the audience - these can also be made to sound better than ever.

Do your ears a favour and listen on headphones or good speakers to get most benefit - laptop speakers will always sound pretty poor by comparison.

All shows still available are listed, including a link to download the remastered show for free. If you want to support the site with a small donation, you can receive the shows as either separate MP3s or FLACs (your choice) - head over to the Rewards for Donations page and see how you can get a lot for very little!

If you want to email me, an email link is in my profile in a link in the side panel.

And finally... These are great fun to listen to but DO NOT replace original releases - support these artists and buy their music.
There is nothing you can go and buy in a regular record store here. If a gig is made available as a regular release, then it will be removed (as a couple have been already).

Tuesday 15 March 2016

Show 63: Kraftwerk - Live at Fairfield Halls, Croydon - 21 September 1975

Their 4th album Autobahn was released late in 1974 and saw them achieve success in the USA, where the album hit the top 10, and also around Europe. With financial support from their American record company, they were able to tour internationally, spending most of 1975 touring, playing dates in the USA, Canada and Europe. For the first time, Kraftwerk featured Wolfgang Flur and the newly recruited Karl Bartos, alongside Ralf Hutter and Florian Schneider; so this tour featured what is often referred to as the "classic lineup", which lasted for 12 years until 1987 when Flur left.

September 1975 saw Kraftwerk playing a number of dates around the UK, including this one. There are a couple of versions of this gig available - the most common one features Autobahn cut short, and at the very end of the set as the encore. I found another inferior sounding recording which purports to be of the same gig with Autobahn complete but with the left and right channels reversed - and Autobahn not as the encore, but as the last track of the main set - the encore being Mitternacht (which really seems to be an extended jam turning into an early Showroom Dummies at one point).

I've looked around the internet and taken the view that the more common bootleg has the tracks wrong - and that Autobahn shouldn't be the last track. So I was able to take the full Autobahn from the inferior recording, fix the sound and the channels, and transplant it into the recording I was already working on - in short, fix it to match the rest of the tracks and present you with the whole gig, repaired and remastered in full stereo.I left the vinyl noise where it appears as its only in parts of the recording and I don't think it's that loud that it spoils anything.

The show is available for download HERE as 1 320 kbps MP3 file.

Or, if you would like to have separate tagged MP3s, or even lossless files in FLAC format, head on over to the Donations tab to see how you can obtain these for a very small donation towards the site costs.

Kling Klang
Goethe's Poem
Kometenmelodie 1
Die Sonne, Der Monde, Die Sterne
Kometenmelodie 2
Mitternacht/Showroom Dummies


  1. Very, VERY much obliged to you, sir! :D

    1. You're welcome - don't forget to check out the other KW gigs here. :)

  2. many thanks for this one, much appreciated.

  3. Superb recording at cusp of their change into familiar sound. Love this period.

  4. I was there, my first live gig. It was loud too

    1. Always happy to hear from people who attended teh gigs I restore. Thanks, hope you enjoyed it.

  5. Awesome. Thank you for posting this